Basilicata Travel Guide

We may earn a commission from links on this page. Learn more

Basilicata, the instep of Italy’s boot, is best known for the stony town of Matera, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The region is mostly mountainous, save for two stretches of coastline on the Tyrrhenian Sea and the Gulf of Taranto.

Basilicata is also known as “Lucania,” a name that dates back to the 5th century BC when this area was part of Magna Graecia. Lucania stretched beyond the modern-day borders of Basilicata, all the way to Paestum and Calabria. But the name is still associated with the interior, mountainous land that makes up much of Basilicata.

Basilicata Map

Basilicata is bordered by three regions: Campania, Puglia, and Calabria.

Top Tours in Basilicata

Recent Posts About Basilicata