Friuli-Venezia Giulia Travel Guide

We may earn a commission from links on this page. Learn more

Often paired with itineraries for Venice and the Veneto, Friuli-Venezia Giulia is the easternmost region in Italy. One of Italy’s five autonomous regions, Friuli-Venezia Giulia has a Central European flavor, owing to its geography and long history as a crossroads for trade.

Friuli-Venezia Giulia Map | Mappa Friuli-Venezia Giulia

Friuli-Venezia Giulia is bordered by Veneto to its west and Austria and Slovenia to its north and east. Its main cities are Trieste, the capital; Udine, the historical capital; Gorizia; and Pordenone.

Where to Go in Friuli-Venezia Giulia


Trieste, the regional capital, is the easternmost city in Italy. From 1382 until 1918, Trieste was part of the Hapsburg Empire. Italy annexed Trieste in 1919 as part of the spoils of siding with the Allies in World War I.

Trieste’s port, the largest on the Adriatic, was once the gateway to the east for merchants in the Austrian Hapsburg domain.


Udine, in the east-center of the region, is the historical capital of Friuli-Venezia Giulia. It’s famous for its compact historical center, which has Venetian-Gothic influences, and its collection of paintings by Tiepolo, who frescoed the Archiepiscopal Palace.

San Daniele prosciutto, considered among many to be the finest ham in Italy, is produced in San Daniele, a town in Udine’s province.

UNESCO Heritage Sites in Friuli-Venezia Giulia

Friuli boasts three UNESCO Heritage sites.

They include the Archaeological Area and the Patriarchal Basilica of Aquileia and the Cividale del Friuli, a Longobard site. Friuli shares the Dolomites, a natural UNESCO site, with regional neighbors Veneto and Trentino-Alto Adige.

Recent Posts About Friuli-Venezia Giulia