Italy Adds Two More UNESCO Sites: Mantua and Sabbioneta and the Rhaetian Railway

Palazzo Ducale in Mantua/Mantova
Palazzo Ducale in Mantua/Mantova

Time to add two more Italian sites to the UNESCO World Heritage List.

In July, UNESCO inscribed the Po Valley towns of Mantua and Sabbioneta and the Rhaetian Railway, which passes through the Swiss Alps into Tirano, Italy. Both new sites are located in the region of Lombardy.

Palazzo Ducale in Mantua/Mantova
Palazzo Ducale in Mantua/Mantova

Mantua (Mantova) and Sabbioneta were selected for their Renaissance town planning, with the former being an example of an irregular layout while the latter “represents the implementation of the period’s theories about planning the ideal city.”

The Rhaetian Railway, which was opened in 1904, made the list because it is an outstanding example of monumental railway architecture which crosses through Italy and Switzerland on the Albula and Bernina lines.

Rhaetian Railway video via UNESCO

Now with 43 city centers, monuments, and other cultural locations on the UNESCO List, Italy is one of the leading countries of “World Heritage” sites.

Last Updated: December 15, 2020


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You May Also Like
The Roma Pass, photo by Turismo Roma
Read More

The Roma Pass

In addition to some other combined ticket options on offer in the Eternal City, there’s also the Roma…
Read More

The Real Pinocchio

Last November, the New York Review of Books released Carlo Collodi’s The Adventures of Pinocchio under its NYRB…