Framed view of Matera in Basilicata

Basilicata, the instep of Italy’s boot, is best known for the stony town of Matera, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The region is mostly mountainous, save for two stretches of coastline on the Tyrrhenian Sea and the Gulf of Taranto.

Basilicata is also known as “Lucania,” a name that dates back to the time when this area was colonized by Greece.

Map of Basilicata

Basilicata is bordered by three regions: Campania, Puglia, and Calabria.

Posts on Basilicata

Dreaming of Basilicata

Bad experiences can happen in Italy. You may lose your wallet, have to deal with a brusque waiter, or turn your ankle while walking on a cobbled path. Despite unfortunate…

13 November 2011